Global Crossroad Volunteer Sarah South Africa Review

Wonderful Time in South Africa

Orientation

The orientation was helpful and informative without being overwhelming. Thank you Simon, for the warm reception at the airport, you made me Feel immediately comfortable, and bringing Nikki with you also put me at ease. The orientation made me feel aware of my surroundings and sensitive to the circumstances in South Africa.

Host Family

My Host Family is awesome. They are probably the main reason I would Like to stay longer if only I could. They have brought me into their home, their school, their church, and their community. I’m so lucky to be staying with such a pleasant family who has done nothing but make me feel right at home.

Project Placement

From the project outline I received from Global Crossroad, I was under The impression that I would be working at an orphanage, but I didn’t have Any other details. As it turned out, I was volunteering at a school. I do enjoy helping the kids at the school and getting to know the educators there, they have taught me so much about life hear and reminded how blessed I am to have the education that I have. So, while I can’t complain a bit about the placement, it is not at all what I expected from the details I received before my arrival which may be disconcerting to some future volunteers should they end up in the same situation. Also, I worry that I have not helped the school as much as they have helped me. Part of this is due to the fact that I am here for such a limited time that I have not been available for more training. Overall, I have greatly enjoyed my placement thus far and will always remember my time spent at Reiger Park.

 

Overall

This has been an awesome experience. My only issue lies in the scheduling. From the beginning it was unclear what I would actually see during my stay and while I was hear there was constant confusion over which times meetings would be held and tours would start. Of course, that has also afforded great possibilities as I have had flexibility in arranging visits to such great places as the Pilansberg reserve, but it has made planning with other volunteers and my host family difficult. This organization offers a great opportunity that I would not trade in.

SARAH ROBERT

Categories: Global Crossroad Review, Global Crossroad Testimonal | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.